Ariane E. Sweeney | Citizens Against Government Waste

Ariane E. Sweeney

Ariane E. Sweeney is Vice President of Membership & Development for Citizens Against Government Waste (CAGW), where she oversees the organization’s $5 million annual fundraising budget and membership programs.  She began her tenure at CAGW in 1993 as Director of Membership, handling communications with CAGW’s then-500,000 members.  As Director of Membership, Ms. Sweeney started CAGW’s high-dollar and monthly sustainer giving programs and generated savings to the organization estimated at $100,000 annually as a result of reviewing and streamlining the operations of CAGW’s direct marketing vendors.  Under her watch, CAGW has become an organization representing more than 1 million members and supporters nationwide. 

In 1996, Ms. Sweeney became Director of Membership & Development, and was subsequently promoted to Vice President of Membership & Development.  In that capacity, she has boosted CAGW’s contributions from foundations, corporations, and major individual donors from 3 percent of the organization’s budget to an average of more than 40 percent over the past five years.  In addition, she initiated and has developed CAGW’s Legacy Society and online fundraising program.

Ms. Sweeney also oversees the grassroots activities of CAGW’s companion 501(c)(4) organization, the Council for Citizens Against Government Waste (CCAGW), and helped to establish the CCAGW Political Action Committee in 2003, for which she serves as Assistant Treasurer.

Prior to joining CAGW, Ms. Sweeney worked in the securities industry in Taipei, Taiwan.  She began her career at van Kloberg & Associates, an international consulting firm in Washington, D.C., where she coordinated the first-ever joint lobbying campaign by the countries of Central America, aimed at bringing an end to the war in El Salvador.

Ms. Sweeney holds a Master of Science degree from Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service, where she graduated with honors in International Business and received the Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence.  She received her B.A., Cum Laude, from Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas.

Sign Up For Email Updates

Optional Member Code